Roasted Red Pepper Soup with Quinoa Salsa

29 Nov

No Soup for You!

Just kidding, friends. I am no soup Nazi. I am a believer in sharing recipes that are souper. Soup for everyone!

Summer has ended and the best parts of Autumn are behind us. Now Wisconsin is in this weird purgatory season filled with cold days and freezing nights, and neither leaves nor snow are on the ground. To keep my blues in check until snow hits the ground, I like to dedicate many suppers to soup. I have been waiting months to finally try this soup and The Roasted Red Pepper Soup was well worth the wait. A few tricks I learned while tackling this recipe will make my next cooking session much more time friendly and hopefully a lot less messy. Here’s the recipe:

Roasted Red Pepper Soup with Quinoa Salsa. Whole Living.

Roasted Red Pepper Soup with Quinoa Salsa. Courtesy of Whole Living

Serves 4-6

Ingredients.

Roasted Red Pepper Soup

  • 2 tablespoons EVOO
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced
  • pinch red pepper flakes
  • 4 red belled peppers; roasted, peeled and quartered. [I made this soup twice. Guilty. The first time with solely red peppers and the second with mixed peppers (green, red, yellow, and orange) and it was fuggin’ delicious. Yep. I’m bringing “fuggin'” back, ya’ll. This was a bit spicier than the red pepper soup. Mama likey.]
  • 3 cups low-sodium chicken stock
  • coarse salt

Quinoa Salsa

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa (Cooks just like rice: 1 cup of quinoa to 2 cups of water. Boil water, add quinoa, turn heat to low ((or remove from heat)), keep covered until quinoa splits open and absorbs water)
  • 1/4 small red onion, diced
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 2 tablespoons freshly chopped cilantro
  • lime wedges, for serving

Directions.

Roasted red peppers. There are two ways to do this. I’ll list both ways!

Roasting a red pepper with gas stove

First way: Using a gas stove

  1. Char peppers over flame of a gas stove, turning until blackened and blistering.
  2. Transfer to bowl, cover with a plate and let stand until cool
  3. Scrape off skins with paring knife and clean with paper towel,
  4. Remove stems ribs and seeds.

I personally don’t like this. I bet it would be a convenient way if I were to use a gas grill. Roasting peppers individually on the stove was not appealing to my time crunch, therefore I scoured the internet for a more productive way to achieve roasted peppers. I came across a helpful video and the directions are below.

Roasted red peppers using the oven

Second way: Using the oven/broiler

  1. Preheat oven to 500º
  2. Cut red peppers into halves, discarding seeds and ribs
  3. Coat red peppers lightly with canola oil/cooking spray and place onto a cookie sheet
  4. When the oven is ready, place peppers into oven for 30-45 minutes. I blasted the broiler for the last 10 minutes to get the skins nice and bubbly.
  5. Remove from oven and cover the top of the cookie sheet with an additional cookie sheet. This allows steam to loosen the skins.
  6. Once peppers are at room temperature, remove skins with a paring knife.
  7. Cut skinless peppers into quarters or slices.

Sure, the oven way takes a bit more time, but I can do other things while those suckers are cooking. Productive time trumps wasted time, friends. And I count hovering over a stove turning peppers as wasted time. Ok. Next step!

Soup.

  1. Heat oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat
  2. Add onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes; cook until tender, 6-8 minutes
  3. Add roasted red peppers and chicken stock
  4. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.
  5. Let cool slightly, then pureé in a blender/processor until smooth
  6. Season with salt

Quinoa Salsa.

  1. In a small bowl, mix together cooked quinoa, red onion, avocado, and cilantro
  2. Season with salt

To serve, lade soup into bowls, top with quinoa salsa, and squeeze with lime.

Nutrition Facts.165 calories, 10 g fat (2 g saturated fat), 3 mg cholesterol. 17 g carbs. 78 mg sodium, 5 g protein. 5 g fiber

The local grocery store I go to had buckets of red peppers for $2, so I (of course) bought a bucket that contained 16 red bell peppers. ha. I tripled this batch of soup because 1. red peppers get pricey and 2. roasting and peeling takes a lot of time. I am glad I did because I have a large container of soup in the freezer just waiting to cure my pre-winter blues at my discretion. Roasted red pepper soup. So. Freaking. Good.

.x.x.x.x.
Middlest

One Response to “Roasted Red Pepper Soup with Quinoa Salsa”

  1. anonymous December 1, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    Hey Mahgen C. save me some!

Comment, bitches.

