¡Visito Costa Rica!

29 Oct

¡Visito Costa Rica!

About three and a half years ago, while in dental hygiene school, I was given the opportunity to actively participate in a dental mission trip to Guyana, South America with a few close classmates and new friends.  During our week long stay, our dental team was able to provide over $200,000 worth of dental services to 500+ patients in the village of Bath, where a beautiful new Christian church was built for the community. Community service was a passion of mine prior to this experience however; this opportunity gave me the spiritual guidance I needed to continue to do what I love doing the most: giving back to my brothers and sisters.

For the second time in my life, I am given the opportunity to once again leave the United States to utilize my medical skills, this time as a dental hygiene professional.  This Sunday, I embark to San Jose’, Costa Rica with a larger medical and dental team to provide health services to those in need.  I will be reunited with a few team members from my 2009 Guyana trip, as well as meeting new team members which I will soon call my friends.  Not only do I have the opportunity to explore another section of the world, I get to learn about a culture different from my own and (try to) speak their Spanish language.

Here’s to a new chapter of my life.

 
2 Responses to “¡Visito Costa Rica!”

  1. aLi C (@aLiYoOp906) October 29, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    I am so proud of the journey you are embarking. Looking forward to hearing all about Costa and hope we will be able to compare stories and experiences! xoxo.

  2. Heather October 29, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    So proud of you.

    Xoxo.

Comment, bitches.

