A Cheesehead living in Bear country…

13 Sep

I have lived in the suburbs of Chicago for a good two and a half years and I have had my plenty of share of getting crap about being a Packers fan…especially by my old bitties. I have noticed though that a lot of Bear fans I encounter are down right mean when it comes to the Packers. I understand that it is the longest rivalry between two teams and that there can be tension among the fans but shoot..Wishing someone get hurt or hating a person who is a Packer player (I feel) is a little bit what I like to call “too much, too soon.” I admit that I am not all that crazy about the Bears. In fact, I dislike them…a lot. I find Jay Cutler to be disgusting and agree with my sister (a shout-out to Youngest, holla!) that he looks like he is a sloppy kisser.

Can I also just say that he slightly resembles Alec Baldwin?

Poor Alec Baldwin 😦

Anyhoo, this post is dedicated to some of the encounters I have had with Bear fans once they find out I am a Packer fan. The main story below is, in fact, a conversation I had with the lovely emission’s dude this morning. After you read about our “awesome” convo I also have not one, but two short OkCupid messages I have received since the season started (officially a week ago, I might add).

……

After a good two months of avoiding it, I finally decided to get my emission’s test done on Blanche (yes, my boat of a car has a name). Not knowing how long this would take me, I decided to get ready for the day. Since today is the “big” game (Bears vs Packers for those who are football fans) I decided to proudly wear my green and gold NEW t-shirt. After pulling Blanche into the garage and having the guy tell me to keep her running, he opens the door for me and I heard him (softly) mutter, “You are wearing the wrong color shirt.”  Just to make sure I understood him, I opened the door and asked him if he really just told me that I was wearing the wrong shirt. He shrugs, smiles, points to the ceiling asking me if I “knew where I was right now?” He then says that I should be wearing a “Bears t-shirt because you are in Bears country.” Nodding, I explain to him that I understand where I currently live; however, I was raised in the northern Wisconsin area therefore I grew up (proudly) as Cheese head. He then told me that he hates Wisconsin because at the age of 18 months he caught his first and middle fingers in an escalator (going up) leaving him with permanent raised fingerprints….Of course he then showed me his battle wounds in which I told him that was not good for business…(I mean what the hell do I say to that?) Shaking his head again he says that the Bears are going to “whoop those Cheeseheads.”  He then reminded me that the Packers lost last week and that the Bears won “by a lot.”  Since he had (some) control on whether or not Blanche passed my emission’s test or not, I calmly bit my lip, nodded, and said it should be a very good game tonight. What I really wanted to say was that the better team won last week (which was true. The 49ers played much better than the Pack…) and that the Bears won by 20 points to a team that was ranked dead LAST in the NFL last year…DEAD LAST. It would be an embarrassment if they lost against the Colts…(No offense to Colts fans). Instead I just let him have pride in his team.

He then proceeded to tell me that the Packers are the only community owned team in the NFL (no crap, I am not that stupid) and that we should be thanking the old Bears owner for giving “us” money to keep our franchise alive…because “we were dead a*s broke way back in the day.” Not knowing if that was true or not (Is it?!), I nodded, thanked him and told him I had just learned something new today. He smiled again, nodding, and as I was driving away shouted, “Da Bears!”

…..

A now a brief word from the world’s coolest FREE online dating website…OkCupid!

Mtymouse68                     23% enemy 68% Friend 61% Match

“Glad you like football..But a Packers fan?” Sent from the OkCupid app

“Indeed a Packers fan. Wouldn’t have it any other way.” –Me

“;) Will see I think the Bears will get u this year.” Sent from the OkCupid app

 |No response from me. Can anyone guess why?|

This morning:

“Da Bears! Gonna stomp the Pack tonight !!! Have a great day ;)”

 |&%&$&@!|

……

Chihawksfanatic       32% Enemy 40% Friend 58% Match

“Packers suck.” Sent from OkCupid app 

“Boy, you sure know how to woo a girl…”– Me

“Caught your attention, didn’t I?” Sent from OkCupid app

|Boom roasted; I decided not to answer him|

Sunday evening rolls along….

“Bears win Packers lose yes” Sent from the OkCupid app

|FML|

I pray that the Packers win tonight. I really do not want to hear the old bitties or anyone that I talk to from now on tell me how much “we suck.” I do not know how my cousins handle this (both are married to Bear fans)….

XoXo,

Eldest.

3 Responses to “A Cheesehead living in Bear country…”

  1. Anonymous September 13, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    No the Bears did not give money to the Packers. George Halas, the coach for the bears in the 1920ish. Came to Green Bay and pretty much got the people of Green Bay to vote for a tax that paid for the new City Stadium (aka Lambeau Field) in the 1950’s. He helped save the team form leaving.

    • aLi C (@aLiYoOp906) September 13, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

      Why thank you for clearing that up for me! I wonder why Mr. Halas did that…Good man he was…

  2. Dave C September 13, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    I think he kinda looks like Gerard Butler. Last name is pretty close, too: http://www.binsidetv.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/Gerard_Butler.jpg

Comment, bitches.

