Lemon Lurve.

25 Jun

My thoughts exactly, Natalie Dee.

When life brings you lemons, you make lemon-y food and bevies! Lemons are perfection beyond a lemonade stand on a sunny summer day. I suggest you order a seltzer and lemon vodka at a bar. And what’s a Leinenkugel’s Honey Weiss and/or Summer Shandy without a wedge of lemon?! I have dedicated many work nights as a waitress pouring myself a Diet Sierra Mist with wedges of lemon; it will make your eyes roll into the back of your head. It is one of the only ways I will ever choose a Pepsi product over a Coke product. Coca Cola is far superior, although I will not turn down inferior Pepsi if Diet Sierra Mist and lemon wedges are involved.

Zest it, juice it, wedge it up. Use it when it’s served as a garnish. I’ll never truly understand why parsley and lemon were deemed garnishes in restaurants; talk about a disservice to my palate and my plate.

For my pleasure – and now yours, I have saved several recipes using the loveable lemon. These recipes will not leave a sour taste in your mouth, I swear!


Fish has never tasted better than when topped with this combo before baking it into the oven. I have learned the hard way to not let the fish marinate in lemon juice for more than a few hours. Apparently the acidity in the lemon juice cooks the fish. Very dry; not very delightful.

Lemon Fish.
Ingredients.

  • Two filets of fish [I’ve used Tilapia and Swai]
  • 1/2 cup of lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons canola or olive oil
  • 5 shakes of Worcester sauce [Love the stuff]
  • Ground pepper to taste
  • Whatever fresh herbs you have around. My favorite combination is dill, cilantro, basil, parsley, thyme, and rosemary. Gather a lot of it.

Directions.

  • Whisk the lemon juice, oil, Worcester sauce, pepper, and herbs until combined.
  • Put aluminum foil over pan, spray with non-stick spray
  • With your fork, poke holes into the fish on both sides.
  • Spread half of mixture over top of fish. Place this side down onto aluminum foil. Repeat on other side.
  • Cook for 7 minutes at 350º. Flip. Brush mixture over top again. Bake again for another 7 minutes at same heat.

There ya have it, folks! I know I haven’t covered all the possibilities delicious lemon has to offer, but it’s a damn good start. Whenever you want something pleasant, light, and tangy – reach for a lemon.

.x.x.x.x.
Middlest

Comment, bitches.

