Reel Time with Middlest: “A” Movie”. “Amélie”

31 May
File:Amelie poster.jpg

Director Jean-Pierre Jeunet. Year 2001. Rating R. Length 122 Minutes.

Amélie [Original Title: Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain] is a wonderful little movie. I am not 100% confident on who or what introduced me to this film, but I am going to assume that it was introduced to me by my host sisters while visiting L’Angers my senior year of high school. This logic makes sense, as the film is French and during high school I did not know anyone who would introduce me to a film that would require English subtitles. Oddly enough, the other “A” film I was considering [American History X] was also introduced to me by my host sisters. Those girls really know how to pick out Meghan-approved movies!

Picture this: modern day Monmartre, France. Amélie was played by the adorable Audrey Tatou [the lead actress in “The DaVinci Code”].

Amélie as a little girl was painfully isolated and lonely. Her mother died at a young age and her father withdrew himself from the joys in life. This isolation caused Amélie to develop a whimsical imagination to ward off her loneliness. For most of the film, Amélie was a 23 year old introverted waitress who found pleasure in changing people’s lives for the better.

Amélie discovered joy in helping others shortly after Princess Diana’s death. The shock of the death caused Amelie to drop a bottle top, which rolled into the wall, dislodging a tile. The hole in the wall encased a metal box with trinkets from the 1950s. Yadda, yadda, yadda…Amelie discovered who the box belonged to and anonymously gave the box back. She overheard the owner refer the unknown person as his guardian angel. At that point Amelie promised herself to devote her life to bring happiness onto others.

The next scene was one of my personal favorites. Here’s a video of Amélie helping a blind man cross the street. The perfect example of ways Amélie brought happiness onto others:

Another facet of the movie was Amélie’s relationship with her neighbor Mr. Dufayel, who spent most of the movie working on an unfinished painting. His focus was on finishing a mystery girl who was drinking a glass of water. Amélie spent a lot of time with Mr. Dufayel and many discussions were based off of figuring out the missing pieces to this girl. These discussions progressed and eventually Amélie was forced to examine her own life and try to break away from her shyness.

And, of course, Amélie had a love interest. To prevent me from wrecking the cuteness of the movie, I’ll just show you a video.

With album in tow, Amélie now had to return the photo album to the quirky collector, Nino Quincampoix. Amélie eventually returned the book anonymously. She also anonymously expressed interest to Nino, but always shied away from an actual face-to-face meetup with him. And thus began a boy-chases-girl race in Paris.

Now the review shall stop there, for I do not want to give away the endings to the movie. There are, however, a few more things I’d like to add about the movie overall.

  • I think it was interesting that throughout the movie it was evident that the director/writer/whomever had a distaste for people’s reactions to Princess Di’s death. There were many scenes where Amélie or other characters got “annoyed” by people’s obsession with P.Di’s death. It makes me curious on what it was like to be in Europe in ’97 and the years following. Would I have been a babbling slob or would I be the one rolling my eyes at others?
  • The film was beautifully crafted. The scenes were colorful and bright. The music…outstanding! I am tempted to purchase (or Dropbox *hint hint*) the soundtrack. Yes, the language was in French, but the DVD offers both English and Spanish subtitles. I felt like reading the subtitles did not deter me from missing any of the visuals in each scene. Then again, I’m biased as I love movies with subtitles.
  • One of my favorite, quirky characteristics of the movie was that as each character was introduced, the audience got a taste of who they were by their likes and dislikes. It was a fun and clever way to get to know the characters. The likes and dislikes were mostly irrelevant to the movie (save Amélie’s likes and dislikes), which surprisingly still made it fun and interesting. Bonus: the video also introduces Mr. Dufayel better than I can explain him!
  • And last but not least, Amélie sought little revenges to people she had distaste for – and rightfully so. Here’s an example of her sweet little revenge on her neighbor as a child.

Ah, yes. My favorite “A” movie to-date. Still not convinced you should seeAmélie? Well, here’s a trailer that may sway your nay to a yay.

.x.x.x.x.
Middlest

2 Responses to “Reel Time with Middlest: “A” Movie”. “Amélie””

  1. Emktay May 31, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Um hi Champeau beauties!! … I did not know this blog was in existence but I am officially a faithful fan as of NOW! I LOVE IT!!!!!!

  2. antwan May 31, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    agréable

Comment, bitches.

