Steel Oats

24 Apr

Lorraine, one of my awesome residents, usually stops by my office every day at around 5:30pm to “shoot the shit” if you will. Yesterday, she asked me how I was doing. I stated that I planned on adding “steel-cut oats” to my diet and that I needed to pick some up the next time I went grocery shopping. Lorraine asked me that the heck steel oats were. I told her that these oats would give you a very “powerful bowel movement” with “major cramping.” Lorraine then gave me a funny look, rolled her eyes, and asked me “Who the hell would want that?” I explained that my sister told me about it via Twitter and I was anxious to try it out. Lorraine then stated that “Your sisters come up with the craziest shit.” My mouth dropped but before I could ask her what she meant by that, she asked me why the “hell” would I want to do that to myself and asked me if I remembered what I had gone through with my stomach/colon/intestine issues a few months back. After I stated yes, she told me to “stop being stupid” and that I was “not to touch those damn oats.”

xoxo – aLi

5 Responses to “Steel Oats”

  1. izikoosumohdum April 24, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    I wonder if regular oatmeal would have torn through meghan’s dainty bowels as well… since steel cut oats are the same thing.

    http://nutritiondiva.quickanddirtytips.com/are-steel-cut-oats-healthier.aspx

  2. glitzandblitz906 April 25, 2012 at 1:18 am #

    Did Lorraine STEEL your thunder?

  3. Meghan Champeau April 25, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    There goes Isaac ruining everything again. I recognize that they are the same, but 1 cup of steel oats packs a bigger punch than a cup of regular oatmeal. More dense the cup [ie steel oats], the bigger the bowel movement. It rips through me like a tornado and I feel cleansed. Awesome.

  4. Ali Champeau April 25, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    I had no clue they were the same. Thank you for the link Isaac. Also, where are you going to be July 3rd?

Comment, bitches.

