Middlest Does It Herself: Scented Plug-Ins

26 Aug

Yankee Candles; Bath & Body Works Wallflowers; Airwick Air Fresheners; Oh, my! Do you smell what I’m stepping in, readers? Okay, I’ll just tell you: Not much makes me more home-y happy than walking into a scented room.

Perusing through Pinterest has become a fun little hobby of mine. Once upon a time I would only pin and then neglect my findings. Sure, I would try some fun nail designs and a few recipes here and there, but actually doing my “DIY” pins was nearly non-existent. And then it hit me: doing nothing with these pins was a large waste of my time.

I have been waiting to do this easy project for quite some time. Why? Because on an impulse I purchased a large amount of Wallflower Plug-Ins from a Bath & Body Works Outlet Store nearly a year ago. Sassy Middlest. I have been saving these empty containers and wicks for a year. Youngest, without my knowledge, threw half of them out. Nothing grinds my gears more than a sister not into my projects. Sigh. Anyway, as penance for my sassy impulse purchases, I vowed to use all of my hoarded Wallflowers before trying this neat project. This penance made me feel like I was in Catholic school again.

I made these suckers several weeks ago. I love, love, love them. Because I am a frugal sonuvagun, I proceeded on the side of caution and only picked up two types of oils for this project. I’m not wasting money on something that may not work.

Here’s the process. It’s so simple I may cry.

1. Remove wick from Wallflower. Just as I was taught by my guy friends in high school, DO NOT USE YOUR TEETH. I chipped my bottom tooth doing this. Simply use a butter knife. It’s totally not worth a visit to the dentist, friends.

2. Swish containers in hot, soapy water and rinse clean. It is recommended to do the same with the wicks and allow them to dry overnight, but I didn’t because I’m too impatient. I just let everything dry for a solid 10 minutes. So impatient.

3. Fill containers; preferably oil specifically made for warmers. I filled them all the way to about ½” from the top, as I like scents to smack me in the face when I walk into a room. If you prefer a light scent, I would recommend a 1/3 oil to 2/3 water or a half-and-half ratio.

4. Put the wick back in the container.

5. Screw into plug-in.

6. Enjoy scented goodness.

Gosh, this is so easy I am embarrassed that I didn’t think of it myself.

Not convinced? Ok. Check out the costs.

Costs:
Reusable containers: FREE
Fragrance oil: $5 for 5 fluid ounces
Yields: 6 completely filled Wallflowers.
Wallflower Refills: 1 for $6.50; 4 for $20; 6 for $24. Guh-Ross.

Review: This does the trick. I walk into a room and smell Linen or Rosemary Mint, which is absolutely delightful. Even Youngest loves this. She is now saving her containers for future filling. Win-Win.

Pick your jaw up from the floor, folks. I love it, too. Now if only I could make my own candles that compare to Yankee Candle. Doubtful, that shit is like scented crack; nothing will ever beat a Yankee Candle.

.x.x.x.x.
Middlest

4 Responses to “Middlest Does It Herself: Scented Plug-Ins”

  1. Anonymous August 26, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    A: you are the only one i know who uses the phrase “grinds my gears” and i love it haha
    B:you are the only person i know more frugal than mark kamin. kudos to you for that

    • Meghan (@megAYCHan) August 27, 2012 at 11:27 am #

      C: I wonder who anonymous is. I have a few ideas, but can’t quite figure it out.

      • Anonymous November 14, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

  2. glitzandblitz906 August 27, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    In my defense…they refills where in my closest for months.

Comment, bitches.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

